Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

Creating a Character by Role Play

video of the author in a writing class
2
Transcript

No transcript...

I’m part of a monthly workshop led by the gifted and kind writing teacher Marcy Lane. Last month she asked us to break into triads, in which we took turns as camera person, interviewer and character.

I created my character Penny Pinscher on the fly. She’s now joined the cast of the novel I’m working on right now, that has the working title of The Book of Christmas Joy. It’s a sequel of sorts to my first Rev. Thomas Book mystery.

Tom has moved out of Oakville, and is serving as the interim (temporary) pastor at Sharpe Street United Church in Sun Parlour, in Southwestern Ontario, on the shore of Lake Erie.

Penny sings in the church choir, and works at the Sunny Shores Credit Union. As you may notice from the role play, Penny is nasty on the inside. She is nothing like any choir member, or credit union employee I have ever encountered. Honest.

In the new book I’ve changed her name to Penny Puristin. The surname is from a Finnish word for clamp or press, which is a little less on the nose for a banker.

I’ve got an outline for this story, and have written pretty solid versions of the first 4 chapters. I’m also happy with the underlying themes, and some imagery I have chosen.

I even know how it’s going to end.

2 Comments
reluctant sleuth
The Book of Answers (audio version)
The audio version is an experiment, and meant as a "perk" for my paid subscribers.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Darrow Woods
Recent Episodes